Park and Recreation - Open Space Canyons and Parklands


Environmental Enhancement - Canyon Strike Team

This is an ongoing volunteer event run by the City of San Diego Open Space Division Rangers every Thursday. This event was designed for volunteers to address some of the most pressing needs of our canyons. Locations and tasks will vary from week to week.

Activities may include invasive plant & trash removal, watering, trail maintenance, and other special projects to help preserve and enhance City of San Diego Open Space Canyons and parklands.

Please Note: All volunteers must be at least 18 years old and complete a Liability Waiver onsite prior to volunteering. Volunteers can expect a physically demanding morning, consisting of long hikes on uneven/steep terrain and heavy lifting in direct sunlight.

Volunteers must email Ranger Tiffany no later than noon the day before the event to receive event details.

*NO BATHROOMS ON SITE*

Additional Project Information: Event begins promptly at 9am. Tools and gloves are provided. Please wear closed-toed shoes, long pants, and sun protection (a hat, sunscreen, etc). We recommend bringing at least 32 oz of drinking water.

For more information or to contact the Open Space Division please contact Ranger Tiffany Swiderski at TSwiderski@sandiego.gov or (619) 525-8502.

Qualifications Required

  • Your Age Group Must be at least 18 and older

Schedule Summary

The next 10 shifts (out of 32 total shifts) for this activity are as follows


Date Start Time End Time
Thursday, October 24, 2019 9:00 AM 12:00 PM
Thursday, October 31, 2019 9:00 AM 12:00 PM
Thursday, November 07, 2019 9:00 AM 12:00 PM
Thursday, November 14, 2019 9:00 AM 12:00 PM
Thursday, November 21, 2019 9:00 AM 12:00 PM
Thursday, November 28, 2019 9:00 AM 12:00 PM
Thursday, December 05, 2019 9:00 AM 12:00 PM
Thursday, December 12, 2019 9:00 AM 12:00 PM
Thursday, December 19, 2019 9:00 AM 12:00 PM
Thursday, December 26, 2019 9:00 AM 12:00 PM