Library--East San José Carnegie Branch


Programmatic - ESL Conversation Club Facilitator

Help enhance the library’s services to English language learners by facilitating an English Conversation Club at the East San Jose Carnegie Branch Library. The goal of the ESL Conversation Club program is to create an opportunity to practice English conversation skills in a welcoming and respectful environment.  Training is provided.

ESL Conversation Club currently meets on Wednesday afternoons, 2 p.m. - 3 p.m.  Prospective co-leaders or Substitutes facilitators are welcome to apply.

We are considering offering a second ESL Conversation Club meetup time, possibly on Fridays or Saturdays.  Please apply if you are interested in helping to launch a new Conversation Club time. 

We encourage applicants to observe other ESL groups throughout the SJPL system.  Note: Individual facilitator styles vary; we will discuss various options and your preferences in your interview.

Fingerprint clearance required for volunteers 18 or over.

 

Qualifications Required

  • Age Must be at least 18+
  • Oral communication and written skills in English Must be at least High

Schedule Summary

The next 10 shifts (out of 12 total shifts) for this activity are as follows


Date Start Time End Time
Wednesday, April 08, 2020 2:00 PM 3:00 PM
Wednesday, April 15, 2020 2:00 PM 3:00 PM
Wednesday, April 22, 2020 2:00 PM 3:00 PM
Wednesday, April 29, 2020 2:00 PM 3:00 PM
Wednesday, May 06, 2020 2:00 PM 3:00 PM
Wednesday, May 13, 2020 2:00 PM 3:00 PM
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 2:00 PM 3:00 PM
Wednesday, May 27, 2020 2:00 PM 3:00 PM
Wednesday, June 03, 2020 2:00 PM 3:00 PM
Wednesday, June 10, 2020 2:00 PM 3:00 PM