BC SPCA


Animal Welfare - Foster - Orphaned Kittens

A foster person or family is an important part of our community animal welfare plan. Often kittens show up in our care with little to no notice and we need to be able to contact already approved foster caregivers. 

You can expect to work together with the branch staff as part of the volunteer team that helps improve the health and future outcomes for kittens who come in to the shelter. We provide all supplies, instruction, and follow-up visits to check health, provide parasite control, and issue vaccinations.

Foster agreements vary in length however most kittens are about 4-weeks old when we get them and we would want you to keep the kittens in your care up to 10-12 weeks old. This allows the kittens to gain the weight and development needed before they are spayed or neutered and made available for adoption.

A home check by our branch staff will be scheduled at a mutually good time. The purpose is only to ensure the plan-for-care meets an adequate standard and that you have all the tools and support needed for a successful foster experience for everyone. 

Qualifications Required

  • Interview Must be Completed

Schedule Summary

The next 10 shifts (out of 273 total shifts) for this activity are as follows


Date Start Time End Time
Friday, April 03, 2020 8:00 AM 9:00 PM
Saturday, April 04, 2020 8:00 AM 9:00 PM
Sunday, April 05, 2020 8:00 AM 9:00 PM
Monday, April 06, 2020 8:00 AM 9:00 PM
Tuesday, April 07, 2020 8:00 AM 9:00 PM
Wednesday, April 08, 2020 8:00 AM 9:00 PM
Thursday, April 09, 2020 8:00 AM 9:00 PM
Friday, April 10, 2020 8:00 AM 9:00 PM
Saturday, April 11, 2020 8:00 AM 9:00 PM
Sunday, April 12, 2020 8:00 AM 9:00 PM